Marcus Walker

marcus walkerJazz, rock, folksy artist Marcus Walker doesn’t disappoint with his smooth vibes. Check him out on Soundcloud.

Since 2000 I have had a band to showcase my songs in an amplified setting but I do solo work as well. Most of my members have been friends, but I don’t mind mixing it up with newbies from Craigslist.  My songs tend to actualize at really odd hours. Sometimes I’ll be walking home late at night & a melody will spring into my head & I’ll have to repeat it over n’ over so I don’t forget or I’ll start developing it & give myself a general outline of its “flavor”.

WHAT DO YOU PLAY?

Early 90’s Jasmine Acoustic/Electric. I bought it in 1995 after I sold my comic collection.  First real guitar that I’ve ever owned – & it still sounds great..! I’ve written many, many songs on it…

WHERE HAVE YOU PERFORMED?

I’ve performed all over the GTA, toured Canada, etc. Some peeps get a little outta hand in some places. Mostly fights n’ stuff. I particularly like when someone is trying to request a song – while you’re in the middle of playing another. No patience from some peeps. I like most venues but some are either too boomy or too cheap. Currently booked for a weekly Thurs run in January at The Wicket in Toronto (Indian Rd & Bloor St W).

WHAT IS YOUR SONG-WRITING PROCESS?

I write all my songs. They tend to have a Lamentable feel to them. A bittersweet thread running thru them & such but, of course, always best to check them out & hear for yourself. Sometimes inspiration hits like a freight train, other times, you have to draw it out slowly ‘cos its resisting. Nowadays, I can have a song finished in a few hours.  Although, not that long ago, I finally finished a song that took 7 years. Sometimes they just don’t feel finished, y’know..?

DO BANDS HAVE TO BE TIGHT-KNIT TO BE SUCCESSFUL?

Not necessarily. I’ve had some seriously awesome moments on stage with musicians that I’ve never played with before but it doesn’t hurt if there’s an established rapport between members. If there’s a disagreement or a battle of wills going on, it’s the duty of the bandleader (that’s me) to aid in its resolution &, if necessary, to give the pink slip. Most bands, I find, tend to fight about artistic differences or money. There’s no getting around some things but if peeps are fair to themselves & each other, these problems should never arise.

ARE YOU PLAYING THE FAME GAME?

No, I gave up that dream a long time ago. I do this because I feel that this is what I’m meant to be doing.

QUICK SHOT QUESTIONS WITH GJ

Your all-time favorite food:  Tough one. It’s a toss-up between Sushi & Pizza

If you could live anywhere in the world it would be?  Sri Lanka

Bands in the lime-light: Who’s doing it right and who’s doing it all wrong?

These days most “bands” tend to be put together, ultra-polished “projects”. So, if they’re surviving or making a quick buck, then good on ‘em. They’re doing better than most.

Coke or Pepsi? Neither, Dr Pepper.

If you could meet any artist, living or dead, who would it be? Bach. Have you heard his basslines..? Freakin’ badass…

FOR EVEN MORE MARCUS WALKER, GO CHECK OUT HIS YOUTUBE. (Seriously, go!)

Leave a Reply

